School of Dentistry

School of Dentistry

3220 Old Dental Building, CB# 7450

(919) 537-3459


James Beck, Executive Associate Dean


The dental hygienist is an educator and motivator as well as a health care provider. As a practicing member of the dental health team, the hygienist is primarily concerned with the maintenance of oral health and the prevention of dental disease. Additionally, dental hygienists may assume professional leadership roles; participate in the development, implementation, and evaluation of community health programs; engage in research activities; or serve as consultants and assume managerial roles in certain types of dental care delivery systems.

The UNC School of Dentistry’s dental hygiene program is the only dental hygiene program in North Carolina that offers a baccalaureate degree. The dental hygiene program is designed to prepare graduates for professional practice in a variety of settings, including the dental office, community settings, and institutional settings. At the undergraduate level, the School of Dentistry offers entry-level and advanced courses of study in dental hygiene. A baccalaureate degree or a certificate in dental hygiene is available to students entering the profession.


Dental hygiene students have a primary academic advisor in the program offices located in the first dental building, known as Old Dental Building. Students are strongly encouraged to meet regularly with their advisor and review their Tar Heel Tracker each semester. The undergraduate dental hygiene program’s director and the chair of the dental hygiene admissions committee work with current and prospective students by appointment (see contact information above). Further information on courses, undergraduate research opportunities, careers, and graduate programs may be obtained from the School of Dentistry Web site.


The UNC School of Dentistry is currently the largest dental school facility in the nation. The dental hygiene program, located within the school, is equipped with state-of-the-art classrooms, case study rooms, laboratory (simulation and dental material labs), and clinical facilities. Koury Oral Health Sciences building houses research laboratories, student lockers, lounge areas with amenities, and Kirkland Auditorium. The UNC School of Dentistry also features an atrium with a media wall, social seating, and dining areas with a food court.

Graduate School and Career Opportunities

Upon satisfactory completion of the baccalaureate program, students are eligible for application to graduate programs in dental hygiene education, public health, and other areas. The UNC School of Dentistry offers a master of science (M.S.) graduate degree program in dental hygiene education to which graduates of the dental hygiene program may apply. Graduates also are eligible to apply for admission to the school’s predoctoral dental curriculum provided they successfully complete the required program prerequisites.

The growth of the dental health care field assures an excellent employment outlook for the coming years. Courses of study provide comprehensive educational experience to qualified individuals for the practice of dental hygiene in accordance with the current and changing demands for health services and in accordance with the laws and ethics pertaining to practice.

Admission to the Program

Applicants may be admitted for dental hygiene study after two years of college work, provided they meet requirements of the University and the Curriculum for Dental Hygiene. Personal interviews may be requested. To assure proper planning for admission, applicants should maintain close contact with the program during the application process.

Enrollment is limited, and applicants are accepted on a competitive basis. Admission to the University does not guarantee admission into the dental hygiene program. Selections are based on academic achievement with an emphasis on performance in science courses, character, knowledge of working with the dental team, and a sincere interest in dental hygiene as a professional career. For UNC–Chapel Hill students, application for admission to the program is usually made during the second year of General College study. Interested students should submit an online application, which can be accessed from ConnectCarolina at Apply Yourself. Applicants who have previously attended UNC–Chapel Hill should complete the online application for readmission and submit official transcripts from all colleges since matriculation into UNC–Chapel Hill. Contact the dental hygiene office for specific information. For transfer applicants, all prerequisite dental hygiene coursework and General College courses taken at other institutions must be approved for transfer in advance by the Office of Undergraduate Admissions. Official transcripts from all schools attended (including high school) must be submitted.

Three letters of recommendation must be submitted with the application. Two of the letters should be from previous college course directors and one letter, a character reference. In addition, applicants must shadow in a dental office for a minimum of 20 hours. This requirement may be fulfilled through prior dental assisting experience.

Prior to being admitted and enrolled, all applicants will be required to present evidence of satisfactory completion of General College requirements and prerequisite hygiene courses required by the major. Applicants with a previous degree should contact the Office of Undergraduate Admissions to determine fulfillment of General College requirements. Specific admission requirements on the pre- and postlicensure and graduate programs in dental hygiene can be obtained from the School of Dentistry Academic Catalog.


Roland Arnold, James Beck, Terrence Donovan, Gregory Essick, Eric Everett, Ashraf Fouad, Richard Gracely, Harald Heymann, Ching-Chang Ko, Jessica Y. Lee, Ralph Leonard, Sally Mauriello, Frank McIver, Valerie Murrah, Steven Offenbacher, Lauren Patton, Ceib Phillips, Luiz Pimenta, Enrique Platin, Andre Ritter, Michael Roberts, Gary Slade, John Stamm, Edward Swift, Ricardo Teles, Timothy Turvey, Donald Tyndall, Ray White, Jane Weintraub, Aldridge Wilder, Rebecca Wilder, Robert Wright, Tim Wright, Mitsuo Yamauchi, David Zajac.

Associate Professors

Eric Bair, Silvana Barros, George Blakey, Lee Boushell, Jennifer Brame, Angela Broome, Alice Curran, Ingeborg De Kok, Kimon Divaris, Scott Eidson, Andrea Ferreira Zandona, Lynn Fox, Sylvia Frazier-Bowers, Susan Hadler, Carol Haggerty, George Hall, Asma Khan, Lorne Koroluk, Mark Kutcher, Lewis Lampiris, Pei Feng Lim, Gary Lucci, Shaun Matthews, Michael Milano, Glenn Minsley, Shannon Mitchell, Andre Mol, Antonio Moretti, Tung Nguyen, Ricardo Padilla, Mary Pettiette, Rocio Quinonez, Glenn Reside, Eric Rivera, Allen Samuelson, Anne Sanders, Margot Stein, John Sturdevant, Flavia Teles, Ricardo Walter, Darryn Weinstein, Alex White, Thomas Ziemiecki.

Assistant Professors

Sumitha Ahmed, Antonio Amelio, Sun-Yung Bak, Steven Card, Massamiliano DiGiosia, Christine Downey, Ibrahim Duqum, Glenn Garland, Matthew Hopfensperger, Brandon Johnson, Julie Marchesan, Luisito Mendoza, Patricia Miguez, Thiago Morelli, Gustavo Oliviera, Jonathan Reside, Ivan Rudek, Lattice Sams, Lynn Smith, Lisa Stoner, Taiseer Sulaiman, Lida Swann, Peter Tawil, Inna Tchivileva, Carolina Vera-Resendiz, Tiffanie White, Di Wu, Alexandra Yarborough.