Administrative Officers

Office of the Chancellor

Carol L. Folt, Ph.D., Chancellor

Debbie Dibbert, Chief of Staff

Clayton Somers, J.D., Vice Chancellor for Public Affairs and Secretary of the University

Office of the Provost

James W. Dean Jr., Ph.D., Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost

Ronald B. Strauss, Ph.D., Executive Vice Provost and Chief International Officer

Carol Tresolini, Ph.D., Vice Provost, Academic Initiatives

Stephen M. Farmer, M.A., Vice Provost, Enrollment and Undergraduate Admissions

Rachelle Feldman, M.S., Associate Provost and Director, Scholarships and Student Aid

Carol Hunter, M.L.S., Interim Vice Provost for Libraries and University Librarian

Dwayne Pinkney, Ph.D., Senior Associate Vice Chancellor and Chief Financial Officer

Jean Elia, M.A., Associate Provost, Strategy and Special Projects

Sarah Michalak, M.L.S., Associate Provost and University Librarian

Allison Legge, M.A., Interim Assistant Provost and University Registrar

College of Arts and Sciences

Kevin Guskiewicz, Ph.D., Dean, College of Arts and Sciences

Tammy McHale, M.B.A., Senior Associate Dean, Finance and Planning

Terry Ellen Rhodes, D.M.A., Senior Associate Dean, Fine Arts and Humanities

Chris Clemens, Ph.D., Senior Associate Dean, Natural Sciences

Jonathan Hartlyn, Ph.D., Senior Associate Dean, Social Sciences and Global Programs

Kate Henz, Ph.D., Senior Associate Dean, Administration and Business Strategy

Abigail T. Panter, Ph.D., Senior Associate Dean, Undergraduate Education

Robert J. Parker Jr., Ph.D., Executive Director and Senior Associate Dean, Development, Arts and Sciences Foundation

Office of Undergraduate Education

J. Troy Blackburn, Ph.D., Associate Dean and Director, Office of Undergraduate Research

Allen Chan, M.B.A., Executive Director, UNC-Duke Robertson Scholars Leadership Program

Drew S. Coleman, Ph.D., Associate Dean, First-Year Seminar Program

Marcus Collins, M.S., Associate Dean  and Director, Center for Student Success and Academic Counseling

Cynthia Demetriou, Ph.D., Director and Associate Dean, Undergraduate Retention

James L. Leloudis, Ph.D., Associate Dean, Honors Carolina; Director, James M. Johnston Center for Undergraduate Excellence

Lee May, Ph.D., Associate Dean and Director, Academic Advising Program

Abigail T. Panter, Ph.D., Senior Associate Dean, Undergraduate Education

James Thompson, Ph.D., Associate Dean, Undergraduate Curricula

School Deans

Douglas A. Shackelford, Ph.D., Dean, Kenan–Flagler Business School

Scott S. De Rossi, D.M.D., Dean, School of Dentistry

Fouad Abd-El-Khalick, Ph.D., Dean, School of Education

Michael R. Smith, J.D., Dean, School of Government

Steven W. Matson, Ph.D., Dean, The Graduate School

Gary Marchionini, Ph.D., Dean, School of Information and Library Science

Susan Robinson King, M.A., Dean, School of Media and Journalism

Martin L. Brinkley, J.D., Dean, School of Law

William L. Roper, M.D., Dean, School of Medicine; Vice Chancellor, Medical Affairs; CEO, UNC Health Care System

Nilda Peragallo Montano, Dr.P.H., R.N., Dean, School of Nursing

Robert Blouin, Pharm.D., Dean, Eshelman School of Pharmacy

Barbara K. Rimer, Dr.P.H., Dean, Gillings School of Global Public Health

Gary L. Bowen, Ph.D., Dean, School of Social Work

Jan J. Yopp, M.A., Dean, Summer School

Robert Gray Bruce Jr., Ph.D., Director, The William and Ida Friday Center for Continuing Education

Finance and Administration

Matthew M. Fajack, B.S., Vice Chancellor, Finance and Administration

Brad Ives, J.D., Associate Vice Chancellor, Campus Enterprises

Derek Kemp, M.A., Associate Vice Chancellor, Campus Safety and Risk Management

Dwayne Pinkney, Ph.D., Senior Associate Vice Chancellor for Finance and Administration and Chief Financial Officer

Anna Wu, M.A., Associate Vice Chancellor, Facilities Services

Gordon Merklein, M.C.R.P., Executive Director, Real Estate Development

Human Resources

Felicia A. Washington, J.D., Vice Chancellor, Workforce Strategy, Equity, and Engagement

G. Rumay Alexander, Ed.D., R.N., Interim Chief Diversity Officer, University Office for Diversity and Inclusion

Linc Butler, B.S., Associate Vice Chancellor, Human Resources

Information Technology Services

Chris Kielt, M.A., Vice Chancellor and Chief Information Officer

Susan Kellogg, M.S., Associate Vice Chancellor and Deputy Chief Information Officer

Medical Affairs

William Roper, M.D., Vice Chancellor, Medical Affairs; CEO, UNC Health Care System; Dean, School of Medicine


Terry Magnuson, Ph.D., Vice Chancellor, Research

Robin L. Cyr, Associate Vice Chancellor, Research; University Research Compliance Officer

Don Hobart, J.D., Associate Vice Chancellor, Research, Federal Affairs, Research Communications

Andrew S. Johns, Associate Vice Chancellor, Research

Eliana Perrin, Ph.D., Associate Vice Chancellor, Research; Director, Office of Research Development and Office of Postdoctoral Affairs

Student Affairs

Winston B. Crisp, J.D., Vice Chancellor, Student Affairs

Christopher Payne, Ph.D., Associate Vice Chancellor, Student Affairs; Senior Operating Officer

Bettina Shuford, Ph.D., Associate Vice Chancellor, Student Affairs

Jonathan Sauls, J.D., Dean of Students

University Development

David Routh, B.S., Vice Chancellor, University Development

Cynthia Butler, B.A., Senior Associate Vice Chancellor, University Development

Dave Kass, B.S., Associate Vice Chancellor, University Development Operations

Mark Meares, B.A., Associate Vice Chancellor, Corporate and Foundation Relations and Talent Management

Communications and Public Affairs

Joel D. Curran, B.A., Vice Chancellor, Communications and Public Affairs

Richard White, B.A., Associate Vice Chancellor, Communications and Public Affairs

University Counsel

Mark W. Merritt, J.D., Vice Chancellor and General Counsel

Steve Keadey, J.D.,  Associate Vice Chancellor and Senior University Counsel

Patricia C. Crawford, J.D., Associate Vice Chancellor and Deputy General Counsel


Lawrence R. “Bubba” Cunningham, M.B.A., Director, Athletics